Difference between revisions of "StopDeviceWipe"

From WebOS Internals
Jump to: navigation, search
(Created page with "= How to stop your webOS 2.x device being wiped when you log in to your profile on your new Pre 3 = The following procedure will remove a HP webOS Profile from a device without ...")
 
Line 1: Line 1:
 
= How to stop your webOS 2.x device being wiped when you log in to your profile on your new Pre 3 =
 
= How to stop your webOS 2.x device being wiped when you log in to your profile on your new Pre 3 =
  
The following procedure will remove a HP webOS Profile from a device without wiping the device.
+
The following procedure will remove a HP webOS Account (Palm Profile) from a device without wiping the device.
  
Once the HP webOS Profile is removed, the device is no longer connected to the HP servers, and cannot be wiped.
+
Once the HP webOS Account (Palm Profile) is removed, the device is no longer connected to the HP servers, and cannot be wiped.
  
Without a HP webOS Profile, you will not be able to access the app catalog, nor perform backups, nor receive OTA updates.
+
Without a HP webOS Account (Palm Profile), you will not be able to access the app catalog, nor perform backups, nor receive OTA updates.
  
 
Here is the procedure. Follow it very carefully, especially step 9.
 
Here is the procedure. Follow it very carefully, especially step 9.

Revision as of 02:43, 31 August 2011

How to stop your webOS 2.x device being wiped when you log in to your profile on your new Pre 3

The following procedure will remove a HP webOS Account (Palm Profile) from a device without wiping the device.

Once the HP webOS Account (Palm Profile) is removed, the device is no longer connected to the HP servers, and cannot be wiped.

Without a HP webOS Account (Palm Profile), you will not be able to access the app catalog, nor perform backups, nor receive OTA updates.

Here is the procedure. Follow it very carefully, especially step 9.

  1. Install Impostah
  2. Make sure you read step 9 carefully.
  3. Select Palm Profile
  4. Make sure you read step 9 carefully.
  5. Tap Reset Palm Profile
  6. Make sure you read step 9 carefully.
  7. Tap Delete
  8. Read the next step *VERY* *CAREFULLY*. If you get the next step wrong, you will wipe your device.
  9. Tap Cancel. Do not tap Ok. Cancel is the button with "Cancel" written on it, not the button with the letters "O" and "k" written on it. If you hit "Ok" when it says "Your device will now restart", your whole device will be wiped, thereby negating the whole point of this page, so don't do that.
  10. Hopefully you read the previous step carefully and did not wipe your device.
  11. Reboot your device.